[ad_1] Phillip Christopher and Mahdi Abu-Omar For their significant contributions to chemistry, UC Santa Barbara faculty members Phillip Christopher and Mahdi Abu-Omar have been recognized nationally by the American Chemical Society (ACS) National Awards Program. Christopher, a professor of chemical engineering, received the 2022 Ipatieff Prize, a triennial award that recognizes an individual, who is not
[ad_1] The American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) has chosen Dr.  Cato T. Laurencin, University Professor and Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, to receive the 2021 Hoover Medal. The prize celebrates the civic and humanitarian achievements of an engineer whose professional and personal endeavors have advanced the well-being of